The Diane Albertson Memorial Scholarship

Award amount: $500
Application deadline: April 1


The Diane Albertson Memorial Scholarship is being offered by the Iowa Recycling Association in memory of Diane Albertson – friend, colleague and advocate of environmental protection.

The scholarship is awarded each spring to a student with a demonstrated interest in environmental action, especially as related to recycling and waste reduction. Applicants must be a senior or graduate of an Iowa high school and accepted for enrollment as a full-time undergraduate for the 2019-20 school year.




Landra Reece is a 2018 homeschool graduate from Boone. She’ll be attending Drake University this fall majoring in Environmental Science and Law, Politics, and Society.

In and around Boone, Landra has been active for many years in a wide range of community service projects. She has participated or led efforts with the Boone County Landfill; Boone, Webster, Dallas and Story County Conservation; Ducks Unlimited; the Iowa DNR; and many church, Girl Scout, 4-H and FFA groups. In 2016 she received the Story County Youth Volunteer award and has won a number of leadership awards through 4-H.

In a letter of support, Boone County Landfill/Recycling Services Administrator Lois Powers said: “Landra has been an active participant in our projects and has always supported our activities. She has a passion for taking care of the environment and a willingness to participate at all levels.”

Landra was chosen from an impressive pool of applicants. Scholarship Committee Chair Joe Bolick said the committee had a difficult task reviewing and scoring the many outstanding applications, but Landra’s rose to the top.

Scholarship Donations

The Iowa Recycling Association appreciates all donations to sustain this scholarship fund:

Note: Donations to the Diane Albertson Memorial Scholarship Fund are tax deductible.

In Memoriam

Diane Albertson was a long-time, valued member of the Iowa Recycling Association (IRA). She worked at the University of Northern Iowa’s Iowa Waste Reduction Center (IWRC) for over 25 years, retiring in 2016. In her time at the IWRC, she managed client databases and provided IT support. She also served as Technical Manager for the Iowa Department of Natural Resource’s Iowa Waste Exchange program, managing the database and providing technical assistance.

Diane earned two BA degrees from the University of Northern Iowa: in Management Information Systems and in Management. Additionally, she was a member of the PEO Chapter LK, Cedar Valley Singers and Quilts of Valor.

A strong supporter of the IRA for many years, Diane represented the IWRC on the IRA Board of Directors and served as an ex-officio on the board from 2013 to 2016.  Diane was respected by all who knew her for her dedication and passion to preserve and protect the environment.

Diane passed away in April 2017. The Iowa Recycling Association wishes to recognize Diane’s contributions to the organization and the environment by offering this scholarship in her name.